Dikshitar’s Vara Krithis

Start your free trial now!

A preview lesson from this course.




Sangeet Samrat Chitravina N Ravikiran



Sangeet Samrat Chitravina N Ravikiran teaches the Vara Krithis of Muthuswamy Dikshitar. The Vara krithis are a set of 7 compositions of Muthuswamy Dikshitar, in praise of the seven main planets of Indian astrology.The Varakrithis are some of Dikshitar’s finest works and highlight his grasp of Sanskrit and knowledge of Indian astrology apart from his deep insight of raga grammar and rhythmic excellence. Being both a masterful theme-smith and tunesmith, Dikshitar has set each composition to one of the sapta tala-s. There are compositions on the shadow planets Rahu(sada rahum- ramamanohari) and Ketu(mahasuram- chamaram) which are attributed to Dikshitar. However, their authenticity is often questioned by scholars and therefore are not included in this set.


Dikshitar's Vara Krithis
  1. Introduction to Vara Krithis of Muthuswamy Dikshitar
  2. Suryamurthe – Sowrashtram
  3. Shree shukra – Paras
  4. Chandram bhaja manasa – Asaveri
  5. Budhamashrayami – Nattakurinji
  6. Brhaspate – Atana
  7. Angarakam ashrayamyaham – Surutti
  8. Divakara Tanujam – Yadukula kambhoji
Start your free trial now!


Powered By MemberMouse WooCommerce Plus Integration