The Vara krithis are a set of 7 compositions of Muthuswamy Dikshitar, in praise of the seven main planets of Indian astrology. These are:

1) Suryamurte namostute – Saurashtra

2) Chandram bhaja manasa – Asaveri

3) Angarakam ashrayamyaham- Surati

4) Budhamashrayami – Nattaikurinji

5) Brihaspate tarapate – Atana

6) Sri shukra bhagavantam – Paras

7) Divakara tanujam – Yadukulakambhoji

Being both a masterful theme-smith and tunesmith, Dikshitar has set each composition to one of the sapta tala-s which are:

1) Chaturashra jati dhruva talam

2) Chaturashra jati mathya talam

3) Chaturashra jati rupaka talam

4) Mishra jati jhampa talam

5) Tishra jati triputa talam

6) Khanda jati ata talam

7) Chaturashra jati eka talam

There are compositions on the shadow planets Rahu(sada rahum- ramamanohari) and Ketu(mahasuram- chamaram) which are attributed to Dikshitar. However, their authenticity is

often questioned by scholars and therefore are not included in this set. The Varakrithis are some of Dikshitar’s finest works and highlight his grasp of Sanskrit and

knowledge of Indian astrology apart from his deep insight of raga grammar and rhythmic excellence.